EW Databases

You will need passwords from the library to access the following paid databases:

ProQuest – The ultimate magazine and newspaper database, from ’80′s to today; also includes great scholarly articles.

History Study Center (same username and password as CultureGrams) – vast collection of primary and secondary sources for the study of history; covers global history from ancient times to the present day

SIRS Discoverer (same username and password as CultureGrams) – includes carefully selected, 100% full-text articles and images from more than 1,900 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, and government documents, along with 9,000+ educational weblinks

ABC-CLIO – Four comprehensive history databases: American History, World at War, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, World History: Modern Era.

Issues and ControversiesPros and Cons of current topics presented with background information.

ProQuest Learning: Literature (same username and password as CultureGrams) – A great resource for literature (may or may not count as a database)! You can use it to:

  • Research authors
  • Find criticism/commentary on literary works
  • Search a variety of literary reference tools, including a variety of dictionaries (of famous quotations, literary terms, cultural literacy) and KnowledgeNotes, which are summary and good commentary on novels
  • Find multimedia links, pictures, and videos related to literature or authors
  • Hear poems read to you

Non-Databases (but great resources to which we have access):

NetTrekker – A great source of general information. Qualified, scholarly educators and/or librarians have peer-edited this site.

Britannica Online – A great place to start to gather basic information in an easily-readable format.

CultureGrams – A geographical source that includes maps, statistics, and flags, as well as contemporary and historical social, political, and economic profiles, of more than 200 countries around the world, all US states, and Canadian provinces.

e-Library – Variety of media, including audio/video

SoundzaboundRoyalty-free music, audio themes and sound effects; ensures copyright safety

Learn360 – Multimedia educational resources and video streaming (currently only for teachers)

Gale Virtual Reference Library – Search the following publications online:

  • Everyday Finance
  • Environmental Science: In Context
  • American Decades
  • Development of the Industrial U.S. (Reference Library)
  • History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide
  • Korean War (Reference Library)
  • Middle Ages (Reference Library)
  • Renaissance and Reformation (Reference Library)
  • Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.